Begin Free Online Ordination
Nevada State Capitol Building

Nevada Wedding Laws

Nevada is home to some of the world’s best-loved places including the famous Little White Chapel, the Red Rock Canyon and grown-up playgrounds such as the Las Vegas Strip and Downtown. Many engaged couples whether after planning or on a whim, decide to make a trip to the Silver State for their nuptials. Couples and ministers alike need to understand this state’s laws with respect to marriage. This convenient guide helps you understand the important details of Nevada rules and regulations so that your marriage is legally binding and fully compliant.

How to Become a Wedding Officiant in Nevada

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Residency:
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Yes
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
Before the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:
Yes

In the state of Nevada, the following persons can solemnize a marriage:

  • Any ministers or officials who are licensed or ordained and is in good standing with their religious organization
  • Notary in good standing with the Secretary of State
  • Judges in good standing with state government

All officiants must be at least 18 years old and can either obtain or renew a certificate or permit to perform marriages.

Retired clergy who can demonstrate being active for at least three years, ministers serving in interim positions, or a U.S. Army chaplain currently on assignment in Nevada can obtain a certificate. Their application must include complete names and addresses of the couple to be wed, the date and address of the ceremony, and other relevant documentation related to ordination. An application fee of $25 is also required.

We strongly recommend that ordained ULC ministers order the Nevada Wedding Package, which is specifically designed for helping officiants be compliant with state regulations.

Getting Married in Nevada

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
No
Minister Required to be Present:
Yes
Number of Witnesses Required:
2
Min. Age of Witnesses:
18
Couple's Consent Required:
Yes
Pronouncement Required:
Yes

Nevada has no specific rules related to the design, style or appearance of a wedding ceremony within state borders.

It is required that there be at least one witness aged 18 or older besides the minister, be present. Each partner of the couple must formally consent to take on each other as spouses, in the presence of a judge, notary or minister. The person officiating must also pronounce the couple as married.

How to Get a Nevada Marriage License

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Any County in Nevada
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
$70.00
Accepted I.D. Types:
Government Issued ID
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
No
Blood Test Required:
No

Getting married in the state of Nevada requires a visit to the county clerk for presentation and to complete an application for a marriage license. The clerk will then confirm both person’s identities and ages using a driver’s license, passport, birth certificate or military ID card; a Certificate of Citizenship or Naturalization; or a permanent resident card. At the clerk’s discretion, such documentation may not be necessary if it is apparent that an applicant is over the age of 25.

Applicants need not furnish proof of divorce or blood tests to be found eligible for marriage. You can expect to pay $77 to secure a marriage license. Approximately one-third of this fee is used to help fund the Account for Aid for Victims of Domestic Violence, a part of Nevada’s General Fund.

Applying For a Marriage License in Nevada

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Religious
Mandatory Waiting Period:
None
License Valid For:
1 Year
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 10 Days of Ceremony

Whereas some states offer a short time period for marriage license validity, in Nevada, such licenses for religions and civil weddings are valid up to one year statewide.

It’s important to remember that ministers who are ordained through the Universal Life Church online program can solemnize marriages regardless of location, gender or religion, or creed. These ministers are considered to be religious actors by the State. The union will be considered legal and official if the marriage license and certificate are completed and returned to the county clerk that issued them within 10 days of the ceremony.

Nevada Marriage Requirements

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 17 with Guardian and Court Approval
Residency:
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:
Yes

Couples wanting to marry in the Silver State must meet the following criteria:

  • Two people, irrespective of gender, who are at least 18 years of age
  • Not related closer than second cousins
  • Not having a living spouse or completely divorced.

Exceptions can be made for minors who are aged 17 in certain special cases. Applicants will be required to have consent from parents or legal guardians in addition to approval from the district court, after a hearing in which applicants must demonstrate: residency in Nevada, that the union will be in the minor’s best interests, and that putting off the wedding for another year is not possible.

Finalizing the Union

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Minister
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

Following the conclusion of the ceremony, it is incumbent on the minister or officiant to make sure that the marriage certificate has been filled out completely and properly. This includes signatures from the couple and a witness, as well as the title (minister), ordaining organization (the Universal Life Church), and the residence. Be sure to deliver the completed certificate to the county clerk's office of issuance within 10 days of the wedding ceremony.