The Louisiana state flag

How to Become an Ordained Minister in Louisiana

If you haven't yet become ordained with the Universal Life Church, that is the first step. Anyone willing can become a legal minister of the ULC, one of the world's largest religious organizations. Online ordination is fast, easy, and completely free. Once you have your minister license, you'll be eligible to officiate a wedding. To become a minister, start by clicking the button below!

Become Ordained!

How to Officiate a Wedding in Louisiana

Contact the Parish Clerk's office in the county where the ceremony will take place. Introduce yourself as a minister officiating a wedding, and ask them what documents they will need from you. They may ask to see a number of things, and be aware that these requirements vary from county to county. Rest assured that any materials or documents you might need are available in the Church Supplies section of our website.

Select your parish to view contact information for each office:

The Louisiana state flower, the Magnolia

The Louisiana state flower, the Magnolia

What Do You Need to Perform a Wedding in Louisiana

Once you've determined what you need, simply log in to your account and order the materials from our online catalog. Ministerial registration is required in Louisiana, and the Parish Clerk will ask you to present proof of your ordination. To allow for a smooth registration process, ministers in Louisiana should order an Ordination Kit along with a Letter of Good Standing. Please try to place your order well in advance of the wedding to avoid complications.

How to Get a Louisiana Marriage License

Licenses are issued by the Parish Clerk, and will be picked up by the couple. As a minister, it's your responsibility to understand how marriage licenses work in Louisiana and its individual counties. For example, if the couple plans to get an Orleans Parish marriage license, you should double-check if there are any rules specific to Orleans Parish.

In the state of Louisiana, the license is valid for 30 days. There is a mandatory 24 hour waiting period between the time it is picked up, and when the ceremony can be legally performed. Finally, the signed marriage license must be returned to the issuing office before it expires.

How to Perform a Wedding

Congratulations, you're ready to officiate the wedding! If you need any assistance in this important task, we encourage you to utilize the tools below. Together these exclusive resources include everything you'll need to craft the perfect wedding ceremony for any couple. Created with our ministers in mind, they offer tips and helpful information for all aspects of performing a ceremony. Fun fact: many ULC ministers have become professional officiants using these tools as a guide!

Finalizing the Marriage

After you perform the ceremony, you will sign the marriage license along with the couple and their two witnesses. Your title is 'minister', the ceremony type is 'religious', and the denomination is 'non-denominational'. You will not be required to provide a license number. You may also wish to give the couple a commemorative gift, like a marriage certificate to mark their special day. Last thing: make sure the signed license gets resubmitted to the marriage office before the deadline!

Louisiana Marriage Laws

Marriage laws in Louisiana are primarily directed by Chapter 1 of Title 9 of the state code. This section defines persons authorized to perform a marriage in the State of Louisiana, which includes ordained ministers of the Universal Life Church, among other individuals. We've reproduced the relevant portion below:

§202. Authority to perform marriage ceremony

A marriage ceremony may be performed by:

(1) A priest, minister, rabbi, clerk of the Religious Society of Friends, or any clergyman of any religious sect, who has attained the age of majority and is authorized by the authorities of his religion to perform marriages, and who is registered to perform marriages;

(2) A state judge or justice of the peace.

Acts 1987, No. 886, §3, eff. Jan. 1, 1988; Acts 1997, No. 73, §1; Acts 2014, No. 651, §1.

To view the in-depth wedding laws for Louisiana state:

Louisiana Marriage Laws