Begin Free Online Ordination
Utah State Capitol Building

Utah Wedding Laws

Each state in the US has its own unique characteristics, features and laws, and Utah is no exception, especially when it comes to marriage. Ministers and couples need to know all the details to ensure that the marriage is legally compliant. The Universal Life Church Ministries supports you and the happy couple by making sense of the law and laying out the steps in a convenient, easy-to-use guide.

How to Become a Wedding Officiant in Utah

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Residency:
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Yes
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
After Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:
No

Persons allowed to solemnize marriages in the state of Utah include:

  • Secular state governors
  • Mayors
  • Other politicians
  • Judges
  • Religious ministers or spiritual leaders, including indigenous spiritual advisors

Any officiating minister must be at least 18 years, which also happens to be the minimum age for online ordainment by the Universal Life Church. There are no requirements regarding the state of residence, gender or religious belief, or affiliation to become an ordained minister with the ULC. We strongly recommend that ULC ministers order the Classic Wedding Package. This package provides you with the credentials and documentation necessary for proving eligibility as an officiant to the courts in Utah.

Getting Married in Utah

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
No
Minister Required to be Present:
Yes
Number of Witnesses Required:
2
Min. Age of Witnesses:
18 Years
Couple's Consent Required:
Yes
Pronouncement Required:
Yes

In the state of Utah, both members of the couple as well as the officiating minister and at least two witnesses over the age of 18 must be physically present for a legal marriage ceremony. Virtual weddings are not legally recognized as of now.

A couple looking to marry can structure the wedding ceremony according to personal preferences, but the state requires that each person officially consent to marry during the occasion. This usually occurs with the wedded persons agreeing, in turn, to be married. The officiant should also publicly declare that the couple is officially married as part of the ceremony.

How to Get a Utah Marriage License

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Any County in Utah
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
Varies by County
Accepted I.D. Types:
Standard Government Issued
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
No
Blood Test Required:
No

Anyone that wants to say “I do” in the Beehive State needs to secure a marriage license from the applicable county clerk. The fee varies from county to county, but you can expect to pay anywhere from $35 to $80.

A government-issued ID will be required as proof of identity and residence. No proof of divorce or blood tests are required; however, couples should expect to provide a written affidavit affirming that there is no lawful reason to prevent the marriage. It is incumbent upon you to fully investigate to make a determination of potential reasons to not go forward as false statements will be viewed as perjury by the state of Utah.

Applying For a Marriage License in Utah

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Religious
Mandatory Waiting Period:
None
License Valid For:
32 Days
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 30 Days of Ceremony

Marriage licenses are available in Utah for use in ceremonies that are either religious, civil or cultural, as per the couple’s preferences. As a Universal Life Church-ordained minister, you are considered to be a religious actor in the eyes of the state.

Applicants must secure a marriage license, which expires after 30 days. They also have the option of getting married on the same day of procurement. Within this same time period, the officiating minister must fill out and sign the license and return it to the same county office of issuance. The minister must also fill out the time and location of the marriage ceremony, and it must also be signed with the names of at least two witnesses. Failure to return the license within 30 days is considered a violation of state law.

Utah Marriage Requirements

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent
Residency:
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:
Yes

To tie the knot in the Beehive State, couples must be at least 18 years old. Minors no younger than 16 can marry with the authorization of a parent, legal guardian or a juvenile court.

Marriage within the state of Utah is open to residents and nonresidents, including same-sex couples. Divorced couples, on the other hand, cannot be married in the state. Other unions including ancestors and descendants, siblings and stepsiblings as well as first cousins are also not allowed. First cousins can marry if they are over the age of 65, or over 55 and can provide proof of their sterility to the district county court where they intend to marry.

Finalizing the Union

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Minister
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

After the wedding ceremony has concluded, the officiant is expected to complete the portions of the marriage license that apply. You’re expected to provide a title and the applicable body of ordination, which would be “minister” and “Universal Life Church Ministries” respectively. ULC ministers should provide their home residence if the license indicates that a church location should be supplied. Once completely filled out and signed, you should send both the marriage certificate and license to the county clerk of issuance in the next 30 days. If you fail to get this done, you will be in violation and potential face a fine.