Begin Free Online Ordination
Maine State Capitol Building

Maine Wedding Laws

Written and updated for precision by the Maine marriage law research team at GetOrdained™ on

Maine has several features that make it appealing as a wedding destination. Have the ceremony along a granite trail or on the coastline and then hold the reception at a lobster shack, if you wish; all are prevalent in Maine. Another appealing feature is that Maine marriage requirements are very reasonable, so planning your wedding should be relatively easy.

Maine Marriage Requirements

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:

Maine welcomes all couples wishing to get married in the state, including LGBT+ couples, regardless of whether they are residents or non-residents. However, it does require that you and your spouse-to-be meet the age requirement. Both of you must be at least 18 in order to consent to the marriage. The laws of the state allow exceptions for minors at least 16 years old who have the written consent of their parents or legal guardians. In the cases of minors under the age of 16, a probate judge must determine whether the marriage is in the couple's best interest. If deemed to be so, the judge can then officially authorize the marriage.

Marriages between relatives closer in blood than second cousins are prohibited in Maine. However, if first cousins wishing to wed first undergo genetic counseling from a recognized physician to understand potential risks to their offspring, the state may make an exception and allow them to marry.

How to Get a Maine Marriage License

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Any County in Maine
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
Accepted I.D. Types:
Photo ID
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
Blood Test Required:

To obtain a Maine marriage license, you must pay a $40 fee and present yourselves, in person, to a city clerk. If either or both of you live in Maine, it is recommended that you obtain your license in the city where you reside. However, there is no requirement for you to obtain the license in the city where the wedding is to take place.

If either or both of you have been married before, you must be able to produce evidence of a divorce, annulment, or death of a former spouse. If such documents are written in a language other than English, you must assume the expense to have them translated. First cousins wishing to marry must also present proof of having undergone genetic counseling.

Otherwise, obtaining your license is a simple matter of filling out a written application and then swearing an oath that the information you provided is accurate.

Applying For a Marriage License in Maine

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Mandatory Waiting Period:
License Valid For:
90 Days
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 7 Working Days of Ceremony

Once you obtain your marriage license in Maine, the wedding must take place within 90 days or it becomes void. However, there is no waiting period once you obtain your license. The wedding can take place as soon as possible after you obtain it, even on the same day, if that is your wish. The officiant who solemnizes the ceremony must then return the completed license within seven working days of the ceremony to either the state registrar or the city clerk who issued it.

How to Become a Wedding Officiant in Maine

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by City
Online Ordination Recognized:
Relevant Office of Registration:
City Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
After the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:

An officiant wishing to solemnize a wedding in Maine must be at least 18 years old. A civil ceremony can be performed by a judge, justice, notary, or lawyer who lives in Maine. A temporary registration certificate may be available to non-residents. Anyone licensed to preach by an ecclesiastical body or religious seminary, a member of the clergy, or an ordained minister can perform wedding ceremonies in Maine whether they reside in the state or not.

Online ordination by the Universal Life Church means that ministers are recognized as religious actors under the state law of Maine. However, neither personal beliefs, especially with regard to religion, nor gender has any bearing on their authority to perform wedding ceremonies. Nevertheless, it may be a good idea for ULC ministers to order the Classic Wedding Package that contains all the necessary documentation to prove their credentials if needed.

Getting Married in Maine

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
Minister Required to be Present:
Number of Witnesses Required:
Min. Age of Witnesses:
Couple's Consent Required:
Pronouncement Required:

To be legal and binding, a wedding ceremony in Maine must take place in the presence of the officiant and at least two other adult witnesses. In the physical presence of the minister and witnesses, the couple must make a solemn and formal declaration to take one another as spouses. Otherwise, you may plan your ceremony to reflect your own tastes and traditions.

Finalizing the Marriage

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

Within seven working days of the ceremony, the officiant must submit the completed marriage certificate to either the clerk who issued it originally or the State Registrar of Vital Statistics. The certificate must include information about the ceremony, including the date and place that it occurred and the names of the witnesses, as well the names of the couple, including any name changes that have resulted.

The certificate must also include information about the officiant, including his or her name, personal address, title, and date of ordination. The certificate should also include the name of the civic or ordaining body, which in the case of a ULC minister is Universal Life Church Ministries.

Learn How to Perform a Wedding in Maine

Perform a ME Wedding

Are you Interested in Being an Ordained Minister in Maine?

Learn About ME Ordination

Become an Ordained Minister Today

Be Ordained Now