Begin Free Online Ordination
Wyoming State Capitol Building

Wyoming Wedding Laws

Written and updated for precision by the Wyoming marriage law research team at GetOrdainedâ„¢ on

Wyoming is known for its stark, untamed, natural beauty. It boasts several features and venues that can make for a magnificent wedding ceremony, including Devils Tower, the Rocky Mountains, and Yellowstone National Park. However, for your Wyoming wedding to be legally binding, you must meet the requirements outlined in the legal code. The following is an overview of the most important steps you must take when planning and carrying out your Wyoming wedding.

Getting Married in Wyoming

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
Minister Required to be Present:
Number of Witnesses Required:
Min. Age of Witnesses:
18 Years
Couple's Consent Required:
Pronouncement Required:

A legally binding marriage in Wyoming requires both member of the couple to express consent and then sign the marriage certificate in the presence of an officiant and at least two other adult witnesses. The officiant then makes a public pronouncement solemnizing the marriage. All parties must be physically present at the venue for the ceremony to be valid. As long as these requirements are met, the rest of the ceremony can be customized according to personal taste.

Wyoming Marriage Requirements

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:

Wyoming recognizes the legal validity of same-sex marriages as of 2015, meaning that LGBT+ couples can marry here. There are no residency requirements for marriage, which means that you can hold your ceremony here even if you live out of state or out of the country.

However, Wyoming does impose age restrictions, meaning that both you and your intended spouse must be at least 18 years old. There is an exception for minors who have the written consent of a recognized legal guardian, such as a parent, or the approval of a state judge.

How to Become a Wedding Officiant in Wyoming

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
Varies by County
Minister I.D. # Issued:

While the couple can obtain their marriage license from any county in Wyoming, it may be more convenient for the minister performing the ceremony if they obtain the license in the county where the wedding is to take place. This is because the officiant has to contact the same office to find out about the requirements for physical ministerial documentation and other documents needed for registration. These requirements vary by county.

Otherwise, the personal belief system, identifying gender, or residence of the minister makes no difference to his or her qualification to perform a wedding ceremony. Officiants must be 18 years old and duly authorized or ordained by an organization such as the Universal Life Church.

Applying For a Marriage License in Wyoming

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Mandatory Waiting Period:
License Valid For:
1 Year
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 10 Days of Ceremony

Once you obtain your Wyoming marriage license, it is valid for up to one year from the date of issuance. This means that you can obtain the license fairly early in the planning process. Wyoming does not hurry you into the wedding process, but neither does it impose any waiting period. This means that, if desired, the ceremony can take place on the same day that you receive your license.

Wyoming law regards an ordained minister of the Universal Life Church as a religious actor. However, this only affects his or her legal standing. It does not affect the requirements for your wedding. The law of Wyoming does not require you to have a religious wedding ceremony.

How to Get a Wyoming Marriage License

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Any County in Wyoming
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
Accepted I.D. Types:
Photo ID
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
Blood Test Required:

You and your spouse-to-be must apply for your Wyoming marriage license in person at the office of a county clerk. You must each present an official form of government-issued photo identification and pay a fee of $30. Before issuing and dating your marriage license, the clerk will verify the relevant information. You must pick up the license in person upon issuance.

It is important to note that Wyoming does NOT require that you obtain your marriage license in the county where the wedding will take place. You can apply for your license from any county clerk in the state. You are not required to have a blood test or to submit proof of prior divorce.

Finalizing the Union

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

At this point, the responsibility rests on the officiant to fill out the rest of the marriage license correctly and resubmit it within 10 days of the ceremony to the county clerk's office that issued it in the first place. There can be serious consequences in failing to live up to this responsibility. The minister may have to spend up to a year in jail and pay a $500 fine.

Ministers ordained by ULC may be confused about the correct way to fill out their portion of the Wyoming marriage license. "Universal Life Church Ministries" can be entered as the relevant church, "minister" is sufficient for their title, and if the license asks for a church address, the officiant can just provide his or her home address.

Learn How to Perform a Wedding in Wyoming

Perform a WY Wedding

Are you Interested in Being an Ordained Minister in Wyoming?

Learn About WY Ordination

Become an Ordained Minister Today

Be Ordained Now