Begin Free Online Ordination

Oregon Wedding Laws

Not only is Oregon an idyllic place to fall in love, but it is also an excellent location to walk down the aisle. After all, Oregon has just about everything any marrying couple could want. With tall mountains, lush forests and vast farmlands, the Beaver State is an optimal place to have a natural wedding. Oregon's many cities, such as Portland and Eugene, also make excellent options for cosmopolitan weddings. Couples who want an exciting or intimate venue are sure to find the wedding site of their dreams in an Oregon city. While planning the intricate details of the special day is important, couples and ministers should not forget to review and understand Oregon's marriage laws. This guide gives you a detailed look at the legal requirements the minister, couple and ceremony must meet to have a legally binding marriage.

Oregon Marriage Requirements

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 17 with Guardian Consent
Residency:
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:
Yes

Typically, each member of the marrying couple must be at least 18 to wed in Oregon. If both are at least 17, they may marry with the sworn consent of a parent or legal guardian. To ensure couples are of legal age to marry, county clerks may require proof.

Oregon does not allow the marriage of close kin. While second cousins may marry in the Beaver State, marital unions between closer relatives are not permissible. Oregon law considers relationships through blood, half blood and adoption when restricting the marriages of close kin. Of course, if either member of the couple has a living spouse, marriage in Oregon is not possible.

Like everywhere else in the country, Oregon recognizes same-sex marriage.

How to Get an Oregon Marriage License

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Any County in Oregon
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
$60.00
Accepted I.D. Types:
Photo ID
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
No
Blood Test Required:
No

Oregon law requires couples to appear in person before a county clerk to obtain a marriage license. When doing so, the couple must bring a signed application that includes both member's social security numbers, ages, places of birth, sexes, occupations, residences and previous marital statuses. Each member of the couple must also designate the names they intend to use after marriage.

The cost to apply for a marriage license in Oregon is $60. The state's Domestic Violence Fund receives $25 of this fee. To show Oregon's commitment to fighting domestic violence, marriage licenses dictate that neither spouse becomes the property of the other. This language is designed to foster a marital union that is free from violence and abuse.

Applying For a Marriage License in Oregon

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Religious
Mandatory Waiting Period:
3 Days
License Valid For:
60 Days
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 5 Days of Ceremony

After reviewing marriage license applications for completeness, truthfulness and accuracy, county clerks issue marriage licenses. There is a three-day waiting period after the issuance of a license before a couple may legally wed. Nevertheless, if a couple has sufficient cause, a county or circuit court judge may waive this mandatory waiting period.

Issued marriage licenses in the Beaver State are good for up to 60 days. Consequently, the marriage ceremony must take place during that timeframe. After the ceremony is over, the minister who solemnizes the marriage must return the completed marriage certificate and license to the county clerk who issued the license.

How to Become a Wedding Officiant in Oregon

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Residency:
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Yes
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
After the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:
No

Oregon law permits individuals over the age of 18 to perform marriage ceremonies. To solemnize a marriage, the officiant must also be a judicial officer, county clerk, member of the clergy or secular celebrant.

Universal Life Church ordained ministers are religious actors. This is true regardless of the minister's personal or religious beliefs, gender or residence. The Classic Wedding Package includes the ordination credentials and other documents ministers need to provide legal proof of ordination.

Getting Married in Oregon

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
No
Minister Required to be Present:
Yes
Number of Witnesses Required:
2
Min. Age of Witnesses:
None
Couple's Consent Required:
Yes
Pronouncement Required:
Yes

County clerks and other officials in Oregon have no interest in dictating how couples choose to marry. Therefore, officials and couples may conduct wedding ceremonies as they see fit. Nevertheless, both members of the couple must express consent, and the minister must pronounce the marriage.

Furthermore, the couple, minister and at least two witnesses must appear in person at the ceremony. If all necessary parties are not available, it may be necessary to reschedule the ceremony.

Finalizing the Marriage

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Minister
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
2720 1st Ave S Seattle, WA 98134

While the couple heads off to celebrate their marriage after the ceremony, the minister has additional work to do. Oregon law requires the minister to complete the marriage license and return it to the county clerk who issued it.

When completing the marriage license, the minister should use the title "minister" and Universal Life Church Ministries as the ordaning body.