Begin Free Online Ordination
Oklahoma State Capitol Building

Oklahoma Wedding Laws

Before you schedule your wedding in Oklahoma, you need to educate yourself about the marriage laws in the state. It takes its regulations seriously, so you can’t afford not to understand all the rules of the Sooner State. Doing your homework on the laws can be tough, which is why we take some of the work out of your hands. You have enough to do without adding research to the pile, so we at the Universal Life Church have created this guide to Oklahoma marriage laws for you.

Getting Married in Oklahoma

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
No
Minister Required to be Present:
Yes
Number of Witnesses Required:
2
Min. Age of Witnesses:
18
Couple's Consent Required:
Yes
Pronouncement Required:
Yes

Oklahoma allows the couple to choose how their ceremony will be conducted. Amongst the few requirements are two witnesses in attendance who are over the age of 18. The couple also must both be present, as marriage by proxy is not something the state recognizes. Spoken consent to marry must be given along with a pronouncement of marriage at the end.

Ceremonies in the state can be religious in nature or not. Those who perform a wedding can be religious actors, such as rabbis, preachers, priests or ministers. Judges can also perform ceremonies. All faiths receive recognition, including Mormon, Quaker and Baha’i, but the officiant must have recognition through that faith’s process as a representative entity to legally perform the wedding in the state.

Oklahoma Marriage Requirements

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 16 with Guardian Consent
Residency:
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:
Yes

Oklahoma honors federal law allowing the marriage of same-sex couples. It also will recognize your marriage from another state if you and your spouse are first cousins, but you cannot marry in Oklahoma with this close relationship. The state also does not allow marriage between brothers and sisters or any other close familial relation such as aunts or uncles to nieces and nephews, and step-parents to stepchildren.

The state also has age limitations. For the most part, you must be at least 18 years old to marry in the state. If you are under that age, you do have some options but expect to go through a lot of administrative red tape.

Minors aged 16 and older must have consent from a parent, guardian or military officer unless he or she has court approval to marry. If he or she is under the age of 16, then it requires a judge or the parents to give consent and that the female has had the male’s child or is currently pregnant with his child.

How to Become a Wedding Officiant in Oklahoma

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Residency:
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Yes
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
Before the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:
No

Each county will have different requirements for the minister performing the ceremony. In every county, the minister will need to provide proof of ordination. However, the exact documentation will vary by county. State law requires anyone performing a marriage ceremony to be at least 18 years old as well.

The minster may file in his or her home county if he or she lives in the state, or in the county in which the ceremony will occur. Ministers from the Universal Life Church are religious actors recognized by the state of Oklahoma to perform legally binding weddings.

Applying For a Marriage License in Oklahoma

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Religious
Mandatory Waiting Period:
None
License Valid For:
Varies by County
License Must Be Submitted:
Varies by County

For adults, Oklahoma does not have a waiting period between when you secure the license and when you hold your marriage ceremony. For minors, however, there is a 72-hour waiting period.

The marriage license must have specific information to be valid. It should include the date of issuance, identifying information about you and your partner, the location and name of the clerk of court, and the minister’s name.

The license will also include a valid date. This will tell you how long you have to use it. You must marry and return the completed certificate to the clerk prior to that expiration date. This date may vary by county. Some are only valid for five days, while other counties issue licenses valid for up to 30 days.

How to Get an Oklahoma Marriage License

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Any County in Oklahoma
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
$50.00
Accepted I.D. Types:
Photo ID
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
No
Blood Test Required:
No

To secure a marriage license, you and your partner must go to the clerk of court. You will complete an application in person that provides your names, addresses and ages. The clerk must also see a legal photo ID for each of you.

Your marriage license will have a space for you to list the names you will use after the marriage. It is a requirement for you to let the clerk know if you have undergone premarital counseling. If you have completed a course, you will not have to pay the $50 license fee. Instead, you will only pay $5.

Once you complete the information and make an oath that it is true and accurate, the clerk will provide you with the one-page document. You can use the license in any county within the state, but after your ceremony, the completed license must go back to the clerk in the county in which you secured it.

Finalizing the Union

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Minister
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

To complete the marriage ceremony, the minister must endorse the marriage license. He or she must do so after the wedding by filling out the area of the document with his or her address, name, church, which is Universal Life Church Ministries, and clerical designation. The minister is responsible for ensuring the completed license gets returned to the clerk in the county in which it was received by the expiration date, which can be five to 20 days after issuance.

In addition to providing his or her information, the minister must also ensure both witnesses sign the document to swear an oath they were present. They must give their names and addresses. Finally, the couple must sign the document with the names they will use now after the marriage.