Begin Free Online Ordination
Nebraska State Capitol Building

Nebraska Wedding Laws

Written and updated for precision by the Nebraska marriage law research team at GetOrdained™ on

The Universal Life Church aims to demystify Nebraska marriage requirements so that officiants and couples can be confident that the choices they make about their ceremonies are legal and binding. The Cornhusker State is full of contradictions, such as its landlocked lighthouses and its somewhat contradictory marriage laws. The following breakdown will help you apply the correct procedures at every stage of the process and meet filing deadlines so that there are no doubts about the legality of the marriage.

Nebraska Marriage Requirements

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 19 or Age 17 with Guardian Consent
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:

There are several instances in which marriage is strictly forbidden in Nebraska. Minors under the age of 17 cannot marry under any circumstance. Both parties must also be mentally competent enough to legally consent to the union and free of sexually transmitted infections. Marriages between blood relatives are not valid unless the distance between them exceeds that of second cousins. Finally, neither of the betrothed can be married to another person at the time vows are taken.

Same-sex couples can marry in Nebraska under the umbrella of federal equality mandates.

While Nebraska considers anyone under the age of 19 a minor, people who are 17 or 18 can marry with parental consent. Once the marriage is finalized, the state recognizes them as legal adults, allowing them to purchase property and sign contracts.

How to Get a Nebraska Marriage License

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
Any County in Nebraska
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
Accepted I.D. Types:
Driver's License, Passport, Birth Certificate
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
Blood Test Required:

While new unions between already married individuals or blood relatives will not be legal, no proof of eligibility is required to obtain a marriage license. The process for obtaining the license in Nebraska is pretty straightforward. The couple must apply for the license, and the application will require each of them to list his or her full legal name and current address. Each party must provide either a birth certificate, valid driver's license, or current passport to verify birthplace.

The marriage license application is not complete until the $25 processing fee has been made. It can be submitted to any county clerk's office in the state, regardless of where the applicants live or plan to get married. Additional copies of the marriage license can be obtained for a $9 fee.

Applying For a Marriage License in Nebraska

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Mandatory Waiting Period:
License Valid For:
1 Year
License Must Be Submitted:
Within 15 Days of Ceremony

Those who plan to marry in Nebraska have no imposed waiting period between license and ceremony. As long as the ceremony occurs within the one year after the license is issued, the couple has a lot of freedom when it comes to scheduling the big day.

The marriage certificate must be solemnized by the legally ordained officiant that performs the ceremony. While a license can be obtained by any county clerk in Nebraska, the certificate must be mailed to the specific clerk's office that issued the license. The officiant has 15 days from the date of the ceremony to submit the certificate to the correct county clerk's office.

How to Become a Wedding Officiant in Nebraska

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
After the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:

The Classic Wedding Package is ideal for Nebraska officiants ordained by the Universal Life Church. It provides all the necessary documentation required by the state to verify the validity of their ordination status if such proof is requested.

Both civil and religious ceremonies are considered legally binding in the state of Nebraska. Couples can be married by a judge or clerk magistrate or by any preacher or religious leader as long as he or she is at least 18 years of age and meets the 15-day deadline for certification. Ministers ordained by the ULC are considered religious officiants in Nebraska regardless of their gender, specific religious affiliation or state of residence.

Getting Married in Nebraska

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
Minister Required to be Present:
Number of Witnesses Required:
Min. Age of Witnesses:
Couple's Consent Required:
Pronouncement Required:

There are three main criteria that a couple must meet in order for the marriage ceremony to be legally certified in Nebraska. First, the event must happen in person. Second, each of the parties must consent to accept the other as his or her legal spouse in front of the officiant and at least two additional witnesses. Third, the officiant must formally declare the couple married.

Beyond these basic criteria, the couple has quite a bit of legal leeway when it comes to planning the details of the ceremony. This gives them and the officiant the freedom to practice the wedding rituals that are most meaningful to them.

Finalizing the Marriage

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

The marriage is officially considered legally binding when all the necessary paperwork has been filed on time with the county clerk's office that issued the marriage license. The officiant must make sure all the required information is included for the marriage certificate to be valid.

Every individual required to be present must be included on the marriage certificate. Not only must it include the full legal names of the persons being married but also the names and residences of both witnesses. The minister or magistrate's name, title, ordaining body (e.g., the Universal Life Church), and, if requested, home address must also be documented on the certificate. Once the information is complete, the officiant must sign and deliver the certificate back to the correct county clerk's office within 15 days. At that point, the marriage will be deemed legal.

Learn How to Perform a Wedding in Nebraska

Perform a NE Wedding

Are you Interested in Being an Ordained Minister in Nebraska?

Learn About NE Ordination

Become an Ordained Minister Today

Be Ordained Now