Begin Free Online Ordination
Hawaii State Capitol Building

Hawaii Wedding Laws

Written and updated for precision by the Hawaii marriage law research team at GetOrdained™ on

Hawaii offers the perfect scenic backdrop for a memorable wedding, but if you plan to tie the knot there, you need to become familiar with the state's unique marriage requirements. Whether you are a prospective couple hoping to marry or an officiant planning a ceremony, this guide walks you through the process, explaining the relevant laws and covering each step in detail.

Getting Married in Hawaii

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
Minister Required to be Present:
Number of Witnesses Required:
Min. Age of Witnesses:
Couple's Consent Required:
Pronouncement Required:

Because the state of Hawaii does not permit marriage by proxy, the officiating minister and both members of the couple must be physically present in order for the wedding ceremony to be deemed legally binding. However, because the state's marriage code does not require witnesses, these are the only three people who must be in attendance.

Hawaii does not generally dictate the style or content of the wedding ceremony, but there are two minor exceptions. Both parties of the couple must express their consent to marry, and the officiant must declare them as legally wed before ending the ceremony. Aside from these two requirements, couples are free to customize the event to fit their own unique desires, traditions, and spiritual preferences.

Hawaii Marriage Requirements

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 19 or Age 15 with Guardian Consent
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
First Cousins
Marriage Equality:

Generally, both members of the couple must be at least 18 years old to legally wed in Hawaii, but the state also allows those as young as 16 to marry if they have parental consent. Exceptions can also be made on a case-by-case basis for individuals who are 15 years old, but in order to qualify, the couple must have written consent of the parents as well as a written approval from a judge of the family court.

In terms of residency, Hawaii has no restrictions. Rather, the Aloha State welcomes marrying couples from any state or country in the world. Additionally, Hawaii has recognized marriage equality since 2013 and continues to welcome same-sex couples to wed there.

How to Become a Wedding Officiant in Hawaii

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
State Dept. of Health Registration Certificate
Online Ordination Recognized:
Relevant Office of Registration:
State Dept. of Health Website
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
Before the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:

If you plan to officiate a wedding in the state of Hawaii, there are no restrictions regarding your residency, faith, or gender. However, you must be at least 18 years old. This should not be a problem since the Universal Life Church has the same minimum age requirement.

Before the wedding ceremony, the minister must complete a two-part online registration with Hawaii's Department of Health. During the process, an official I.D. number will be issued. This information will likely be needed at a later stage of the registration process as well as on the license itself, so save the number for future reference.

When completing the registration, officiants are asked to pay a $10 portal administration fee and supply personal information, such as name, address, birth date, email, and phone number. As a ULC-ordained minister, you will also need to provide the following address:

Universal Life Church Ministries
2720 1st Avenue South
Seattle, WA 98134

Once the online registration is complete, the minister must visit the county clerk who issued the marriage license. While the requirements can vary by location, many counties will request physical documentation from the minister. For this reason, ULC recommends that you have your ordination credentials and your official I.D. number with you when you register at the clerk's office. After the ceremony, you should also submit any requested documentation along with the completed marriage license.

Applying For a Marriage License in Hawaii

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Mandatory Waiting Period:
License Valid For:
30 Days
License Must Be Submitted:
By Expiration

Unlike most other states, Hawaii does not impose a mandatory waiting period after the marriage license has been issued. In other words, if desired, a couple can pick up their license on the same day as their wedding.

If the marrying adults would rather take their time, they have 30 days from the date of issuance to legally wed. Once the ceremony has taken place, the couple must submit the completed marriage certificate to the appropriate county clerk's office before the 30-day window has closed.

When applying for a marriage license, the couple should specify that they are having a religious ceremony conducted by a minister rather than a civil ceremony with a justice of the peace. Ministers of the Universal Life Church are considered religious actors who are officially ordained to perform binding wedding ceremonies. This is the case even if you are not religious and do not plan to integrate any mention of faith into your ceremony.

How to Get a Hawaii Marriage License

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
County of Issuance
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
Varies by County
Accepted I.D. Types:
Standard Government Issued ID
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
Blood Test Required:

To obtain a marriage license in Hawaii, the couple must appear in person before the clerk of the county in which they plan to wed. In addition to presenting official proof of identification, the couple must pay both a filing fee and a $60 application fee. Blood tests are not required, but in the case of a prior marriage, divorce documentation must be presented.

The couple should also provide the minister with the name and address of the office from which they receive their license. Wedding ceremony officiants must submit documentation to the same office once they have registered online with Hawaii's Department of Health.

Finalizing the Union

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
2720 1st Ave S Seattle, WA 98134

After the ceremony has officially ended, the minister's job is not quite done. The officiant is still responsible for overseeing the completion and filing of the marriage license.

First, check the license information provided by the married couple to make sure there are no mistakes or omissions. It's essential to avoid errors because the couple may need to purchase a new license if the paperwork is not accurate.

Next, carefully complete the section for the officiant. In case it's needed, have on hand the official I.D. number received during the online registration process with the Department of Health. If asked for a title and ordaining body, the officiant should list "minister" and "Universal Life Church," respectively. For the address of the ordaining church, provide the following:

Universal Life Church Ministries
2720 1st Avenue South
Seattle, WA 98134

As mentioned earlier, the marriage license must be returned to the appropriate clerk's office within 30 days of issuance. While the couple is legally allowed to file the completed certificate, it is ultimately the minister's responsibility. ULC recommends that you complete the task yourself because you can be held responsible and charged with negligence or malice if the license is not filed on time.

ULC also recommends that you keep a detailed record of the entire process. This is especially important if you were paid for your services or have entered into a legal contract of any kind. These records are private and, as such, do not have to be shared with ULC headquarters.

Learn How to Perform a Wedding in Hawaii

Perform a HI Wedding

Are you Interested in Being an Ordained Minister in Hawaii?

Learn About HI Ordination

Become an Ordained Minister Today

Be Ordained Now