Begin Free Online Ordination

Indiana Wedding Laws

One of the things Indiana is most famous for is the Indianapolis 500, one of the most famous auto races in the world. You may want to speed to the altar like one of those racecars to marry your significant other. However, if you are not careful, you may forget a crucial step along the way. This probably won't cause your marriage hopes to crash, but they may have to take a detour. The following guide can help you to slow down sufficiently to be sure you have met all the requirements in Indiana's marriage laws.

How to Become a Wedding Officiant in Indiana

Min. Age of Minister:
Age 18
Residency:
Not Required
Document(s) Required:
Varies by County
Online Ordination Recognized:
Yes
Relevant Office of Registration:
County Clerk
Latest Document(s) Submission Date Allowed:
After the Ceremony
Minister I.D. # Issued:
No

There is an exhaustive list of people that the state of Indiana authorizes to perform wedding ceremonies. This includes elected officials at the state and local level, as well as judges and clerks. It also includes a wide range of clergy and religious leaders, including priests, ministers, bishops and archbishops, imams, and rabbis. Other religious actors specifically mentioned in the state code include duly authorized members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, German Baptists, and adherents of the Friends Church or Baha'i faith.

If a minister has gone through Universal Life Church's online ordination, Indiana recognizes that person as a religious actor for legal purposes regardless of personal beliefs, gender, or state or country of residence. A minister can ensure that he or she has all the required documentation by ordering the Classic Wedding Package from ULC.

Getting Married in Indiana

Marriage By Proxy Allowed:
No
Minister Required to be Present:
Yes
Number of Witnesses Required:
None
Min. Age of Witnesses:
N/A
Couple's Consent Required:
Yes
Pronouncement Required:
Yes

No witnesses are required for a wedding in Indiana, nor does state law require any specific format. However, it is required that you and your spouse-to-be give formal consent to marry one another in the physical presence of your officiant. Otherwise, you are free to plan a ceremony that reflects your traditions and beliefs.

How to Get an Indiana Marriage License

Who Picks Up License:
The Couple
Where License is Valid:
County of Issuance
Marriage License Pick-Up:
In Person Only
Cost of License:
Varies by County
Accepted I.D. Types:
Standard Government Issued ID and Proof of Residence
Proof of Divorce Required (If Applicable):
Varies by County
Blood Test Required:
No

While state law allows out-of-state couples to get married on Indiana soil, there is an extra expense involved. If neither you nor your spouse-to-be is a resident of Indiana, the state charges a $60 fee to obtain your marriage license. You may have to pay an additional $2 for filing in certain counties. Out-of-state couples must obtain their licenses from a clerk of the county where the wedding will be held. On the other hand, if either you or your spouse is an Indiana resident, the licensing fee drops to $18.

The documentation required for the marriage license application varies by county, so you should confirm what you need with the appropriate office before applying. At the very least, you both need government-issued identification to confirm your addresses and your ages. You may also require a Social Security card or documentation of a prior divorce. However, in some counties, you merely need to be able to provide the Social Security number or the date of divorce finalization.

Applying For a Marriage License in Indiana

ULC-Officiated Ceremony Type:
Religious
Mandatory Waiting Period:
None
License Valid For:
60 Days
License Must Be Submitted:
By Expiration

There will be two copies of a marriage certificate attached to your marriage license once it is issued. They will both go to the minister performing the ceremony to fill out. You will get the original following the ceremony, while the officiant must take the other copy of the certificate, with the license, to the county clerk who issued them. This must take place within 30 days of the ceremony. There is no waiting period for an Indiana marriage license, and it remains valid for 60 days after the issuance date.

Indiana Marriage Requirements

Min. Age of Couple:
Age 18 or Age 17 with Guardian Consent
Residency:
Not Required
Min. Distance of Kin Allowed:
Second Cousins
Marriage Equality:
Yes

Technically, Indiana still has a law on the books forbidding same-sex marriage. Fortunately, however, the 2015 Supreme Court decision affirming marriage equality overrules that law. This means that all couples can get married in Indiana, regardless of gender, sexual orientation, or whether they live there or not.

To marry legally in Indiana, you typically must be at least 18 years old. There are a couple of exceptions for minors under certain circumstances. A person 17 years of age can get married with the consent of a parent or guardian. A minor at least 15 years old who is also pregnant can petition the courts for a marriage license.

Indiana state law forbids bigamy, so if you have been married before and your spouse is still living, you must obtain a divorce before you can remarry. Relatives who are closer than second cousins typically cannot marry each other although there is an exception for first cousins who are over 65 years old.

Finalizing the Union

Officiant's Title on Marriage License:
Minister
Church/Ordaining Body:
Universal Life Church Ministries
Address of Church:
Minister's Home Address

After the ceremony, it is time for the officiant to fill out both copies of the marriage certificate with the date and county the marriage license was issued, the time and place of the ceremony, the names and addresses of you and your spouse, plus the name of the officiant. He or she then has 30 days following the ceremony to return it to the issuing clerk of the circuit court, but no later.